Underground Supper Club

Its no secret that I am a big fan of London’s iconic Underground so when I heard there was an ‘Underground Supper Club’ being held on an out of service tube I made sure I got tickets! Hosted by the Basement Galley the dinner was £42 for a 7 course meal. There was also pop up bar in attendance as well so our booze needs were covered.

When we arrived we were given a nice warm glass of mulled wine which warmed us up as the night was certainly a chilly one. It wasn’t long until we were all settled into the tube seats and waiting for our meal. The general idea of the place was that they just throw you in with strangers and encourage you to get chatting. Luckily for us we sat next to some really great people and as we spent the night chatting away it reminded me of my backpacking days where you just befriend the person in the bar or next bunk over for a little while. A lot different from the stony silence Londoners are used to.

20131109_193228

20131109_193236

 

20131109_193245

 

The menu was printed out on a tube map and it was a bit more experimental than what I was used to. But that was all part of the fun. All of it was fairly delicious but my favourite two dishes was our very first plate of glazed duck and the beetroot, goats cheese and caviar starter. One of the more experimental courses was a gin and tonic jelly to cleanse your palette. I was a little disappointed with the main meal as it was salmon and I am not much of a big seafood eater but apart from that they were all delicious.

20131109_192230

 

20131109_195438

The rest of our night was spent finishing up our bottle of wine and testing the speciality cocktail as we got to know our tube mates even swapping numbers and talk of another supper club meet up sometimes soon. Whether that happens or not, I enjoyed my first supper club experience so much I am definitely hoping to go to a few more!

Leave a comment